Connect with us



The Academy (Oscars) Invites Frances-Anne Solomon to be a Member


Academy Invites 842 New Members

The organization behind the Oscars has worked to dramatically expand its member roster over the past several years to become more inclusive and globally focused.


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is keeping up its pledge to diversify its ranks, inviting 842 new members from 59 countries, 50 percent of whom are female and 29 percent are people of color, the organization said Monday.

Among actors and musicians, Winston Duke, Elisabeth Moss, Letitia Wright, Claire Foy, Sterling K. Brown, Tom Holland, Gemma Chan, Will Poulter, Lady Gaga and Adele were invited to become part of the Academy’s class of 2019.

For the directors branch, Jonathan M. Chu (Crazy Rich Asians), Phil Lord and Christopher Miller (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse), Nisha Ganatra (Late Night), Liza Johnson (Elvis & Nixon) and Jon Baird (Stan & Ollie) were among those invited.  SEE LINK TO READ MORE…


Newsletter Signup

Written By

Newsletter Signup